New member here, a couple questions

rdetexas

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am a new member here, hoping to get a couple of questions answered. I am new to smokers, and looking into either the 1150 Pro Series V3, or the 850 Pro Series V2. I can not seem to find many differences between the 2, except for the size, the easy-to-remove burn pot on the 1150, and the "new" VST controller on the 1150.

I know the 850 does not have the removable burn pot, which I'm ok with.

I do not know how I feel about the 1150 V3 and the new touchscreen controller, since my hands will have gloves on, or bbq sauce on them from time to time!

I'm assuming that all of the issues with the controller on 850 V2 have been fixed, including the temp. swings.

So my main question is, is there a major difference between the 1150 V3 and the 850 V2 to justify the extra cost, other than the obvious size? The new controller on the 1150 scares me, with it being new and all, as it seems like they just got the 850 V2 figured out and it now seems pretty solid.

Can anyone verify the number of probes that the 850 V2 can accept? I've seen pictures on Pit Boss's website that shows 4 probes in the controller, but no one has verified.

Also, are the 850 V2 AND the 1150 V3 capable of a "smoke setting"? Or is one of them not capable of the "smoke" setting? By the way, what is the "smoke" setting, and how does it work?!?! Thank you all in advance for any advice you can offer.

Do you have issues with uneven temperatures, especially right above the burn pot?
Directly above the burn pot sure. I use it to my advantage. On the lower grate I cook to the left or right and if one piece is lagging behind I move it closer to center. The upper grate seems even and adds more smoke flavor to me. So that where I stack my appetizers