New Navigator 550 long to cook and Temp Issues

fisherboy444

Reaction score
Greetings from New Zealand! I am new to smoking and I decided to purchase a Navigator 550G, I have used my smoker 4 times and noticed that my meat takes ages to cook compared to recipes and videos on youtube. I decided to investigate my ambient temperature by placing an Inkbird thermometer and Pitboss Probe thermometer in the middle of the grill for comparison and found that I am 30degrees out from what the PB actual temp is measuring on the display. Is this discrepancy normal or is there something wrong with my unit? I have a Thermopro handheld thermometer which measures similar to my Inkbird, the PB probe thermometer is always 4deg higher. I have attached photos for reference, measured in 2 different occasions. Hoping for some help and advice. Thank you.
IMG_6884.jpeg
IMG_6887.jpeg
IMG_6888.jpeg

Welcome!

There is a "fix" to help that. If you look your temp probe on the left that the controller runs off of has a gap under it. The heat can run up the underside of the deflector and hit the probe. This seems to be the root of the temp differences. This gap can be plugged with foil or there is a "kit" you can buy.

Www.Smokeslikeaboss.com

Welcome from SC. Looks normal to me. You are measuring grate temp vs the control temp probe that does get some extra heat from the way they designed the grill. I use foil to block that but I also drive my grill by what my extra grate temp probes show. So if I have my grill set to 250 and my grate temp is only at 200. I'll set grill temp to whatever it takes to get grate temp to 250.