Smoke Problems with my new Austin XL

hofa

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the pitboss family. I got my new Austin XL a few days ago. Of course I assembled it straight away and burned it in according to the description. Everything so far so good.
The same day I tried to cook a row of ribs in the smoker. That didn't work so well, I always had to sit at the smoker because the combustion didn't work properly...
The problem is that from time to time you can hear noises from the auger, as if it is jamming. As soon as you hear the noise, heavy smoke comes out of all ends of the smoker. this happens at different intervals. So whenever you hear the noise.
I thought maybe the pellets were not good or too big, so I took them all out and put other pellets in. But the problem persists. In the meantime I have tried 3 different pellets from Pitboss and the problem does not go away. I will attach a video here of what happens when the grill starts to smoke. In the video, the grill has been running at 110 degrees for 1.5 hours.
Can someone help me please🙏

Attachments

• vid-20240218-145558-zw9nisqx-zisxzkjr_T9zAjyeq.mp4
    17 MB
Welcome from Texas to the group!!
Me and the wife and some friends will be in Italy in September on a Norwegian cruise
The noise your hearing is longer pellets breaking up.
I use bear mountain. Don’t know if they sale those over there.
Also sift the pellets through a colander and store them in a air tight container
Hopefully this helps you 🇺🇸🇺🇸

Hmmm. Too much white smoke. That temp is too low. I suspect the burn pot is flaming out due low temps. Try setting it on 185 - 225 and see if that works. Nothing will cook at 95 degrees.
Hi, thanks for your reply. The temp is so low in kind of that issue. The pot is flaming out and the temp go down. I setted the temp to 110° C
It also will happen when i set a bit higher temp.
Every 10-15 minutes this will happen. Uff, i have to go away from my pittboss when that will happen. To much smoke, burning my eyes🔥