New to Pit Boss from Australia

Reaction score
Hello Fellow Pitt boss members.

I am totally new to pellet cooking, last week I settled on the Pit boss Pro series 850 We don't have to many models to choose from in Australia.
I love the science around this type of cooking. I cooked my first ribs on Saturday using the heath riles competition ribs. They worked fairly well.

However, the first problem I have come across is the temperature differential. I placed the ribs on the top rack with an independent probe (therompro TP2O) . I am getting 20C temp difference from what the cooker is stating and what the therompro is stating.

Have I done something wrong or need to fix????

Hello Fellow Pitt boss members.

I am totally new to pellet cooking, last week I settled on the Pit boss Pro series 850 We don't have to many models to choose from in Australia.
I love the science around this type of cooking. I cooked my first ribs on Saturday using the heath riles competition ribs. They worked fairly well.

However, the first problem I have come across is the temperature differential. I placed the ribs on the top rack with an independent probe (therompro TP2O) . I am getting 20C temp difference from what the cooker is stating and what the therompro is stating.

Have I done something wrong or need to fix????
Welcome from Texas to the group!!
Give it a few cooks to settle in
My 820 did the same thing
I use a INKBIRD and never worry about the pitboss temp
Hopefully this helps you 🇺🇸🇺🇸

welcome to the forum pellet smokers are known to have internal temp variables dont rely on the temp set just cook by meat temp and have a secondary prob handy even a hand held is nice once you learn your machine you will know how far off your meat prob is and will know when to pull the meat accordingly
happy smoking

Welcome Dusty
Just work it man. It's an art not a culinary science. Get to know the girl first and then you 2 can dance.